Soak In The Snow Days

Michigan. The place where the sun shines when you least expect it, it rains with no clouds in the sky and snows 5 years worth of snow in 2 weeks. Yup. Welcome to Michigan. Our frozen tundra.

photo 2 (4)

 

This frozen, icy, snowy and freezing world we are current living in is causing several snow days for kids in schools. This doesn’t effect me personally because my kids are young, but I do notice a lot of moms feeling effected by their kids being home who typically are not home during the day.

Before I say anything else, I’ll say this. No, I do not totally completely get it because I am not in your situation with school ages kids, but just hear me out…

 

 

photo 4 (2)

 

 

I am home with my little ones 24/7. In fact not only am I home, but we are also a one car family which means when my hubby is at work I am home with the kids with no way to get anywhere even if I wanted to.

There are days where I want to rip my hair out. Moments where I almost throw the cat out the front door because I’m so tired of tantrums, bickering and crying that I have to send someone out of the house in anger and it won’t be my kids. So the poor cat gets voted out.

 

 

 

So. I get that. That feeling of not knowing what to do with them, running out of creative ideas to keep them busy and feeling totally trapped

 

Now take a moment and think several years down the road. To the day when your kids are all in college. Having their snow days away in another state.

OR

When they are all married with kids and they have their own snow days to deal with.

OR

Even to the day when they go back to school after all these snow days (whenever that may be).
photo 3 (3)

There will be a day where you won’t get those special days with your kids. They will be sitting in a dorm somewhere on a snow day thinking back to those days they had snow days at home.

What do you think they will think about?

Someday they will be sitting in their own home with their own family and their own kids on a snow day. Reaching the point of complete desperation when they stop and think.

What do you think they will think about?

I know for me, personally. I hope my kids will think about the creative things we did together. How much time I spent with them because I didn’t usually get that opportunity to be with them during the day.

 

I hope they look back and see a mom who celebrated a snow day with them.

Not grumbled and complained because I didn’t want my kids around all day.

 

photo 1 (4)

 

 

I don’t want my kids to ever feel like I don’t want them around.

These times are precious.

Right now I am soaking up every little moment with my little ones. Knowing that someday they will be in school. Every day. All day. I won’t get these special moments back.

 

 

Soak in the snow days.

photo 1 (3)

 

Remind them of how special they are.
Tell them how much they are so loved.
You don’t HAVE to be super mom and have a special activity for them to do every split second.
Just spend TIME with them.

Just. Be.

 

 

 

photo 2 (3)

 

Remember I get it that days can get long. It can get challenging. But eventually they will go back to school.
  What will you see when you look back at those snow days?

 

 

The TIME you were given?
The TIME God gave you! 

He gave YOU TIME!

TIME with your beautiful kids who God has blessed you with.

OR

How aggravated you were the whole time your kids sat right in front of you for days and you didn’t take the TIME you were given with them?
And you chose to take that TIME to tell the world of Facebook how aggravated you were…

This is your TIME.
Your TIME to be their mom at a time of the day you are not used to having them…
Soak it in. Because in a *blink* you will be out of that time…

photo 3 (4)

One thought on “Soak In The Snow Days

Leave a comment